East Granby Board of Education East Granby, CT 06026 Special Meeting Minutes Thursday, April 25, 2024

## **Board Members Present:**

Mrs. Lynn Landolina Mrs. Amanda Cormier Mrs. Whitney Burns Mr. Ricky Bortz Mrs. Lisa Griffin Mr. John Welsh

### **Board Member Absent:**

Mr. Bob Paskiewicz Mr. Mark Andrews Mr. John Corcoran

#### **Others Present:**

Melissa F. Bavaro-Grande, Superintendent Katherine Dias, Visitor Alicia Palmer, Visitor Susan Corey, Visitor Shannon Provencher, Visitor Linda Dewey, Visitor Steven Mosher, Visitor Michelle Leifert, Visitor Josiah Friedberg, Visitor John Tedesco, Visitor

### I. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance

With a quorum present, the special meeting was called to order at 7:05 p.m., and all recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

## a. Comments from Visitor Regarding Agenda Items

Various members of the community and EGEA gave comments regarding proposed teacher layoffs.

#### **II.** Executive Session – Teacher Non-Renewal Notifications Executive Session was not held.

## III. Recommended Actions

### a. Approve Teacher Non-Renewal Notifications

In my capacity as Superintendent of Schools, I regretfully recommend that the Board of Education nonrenew the teaching contract of Michelle Leifert, Mary Siriani, Cristina Riloff, Katherine Dias, Alicia Palmer, Kyle Fusco, and Joe Esposito at the end of the 2023 - 2024 school year) in accordance with the provisions of Connecticut General Statutes Section 10-151, and that the Board authorize me to furnish written notice of the action.

I am making this recommendation due to budget constraints and reduction of staff which I view to be sufficient basis for the recommended action.

**MOTION:** A motion was made by Lynn Landolina. I to move that pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Section 10-151, the East Granby Board of Education nonrenew the teaching contract of Michelle Leifert, Mary Siriani, Cristina Riloff, Katherine Dias, Alicia Palmer, Kyle Fusco, and Joe Esposito at the end of the 2023 - 2024 school year as recommended by the Superintendent of Schools.

I further move to direct the Superintendent of Schools to communicate this action of the Board in writing to Michelle Leifert, Mary Siriani, Cristina Riloff, Katherine Dias, Alicia Palmer, Kyle Fusco, and Joe Esposito and that the Superintendent of Schools be authorized to respond on behalf of the Board of Education to any requests for a hearing, if required by law, or for other data which may be forthcoming from the teacher and/or his/her representative pursuant to applicable provisions of Connecticut General Statutes Section 10-151; and I further move to direct the Superintendent that any response to a request for a hearing, if a hearing is required by law, indicate that such hearing is to be before the Board of Education.

The motion was seconded by Ricky Bortz. (FOR: Lynn Landolina, AGAINST: Ricky Bortz, Whitney Burns, Amanda Cormier, ABSTAINED: John Welsh, Lisa Griffin) *Motion failed*.

# IV. Adjournment

*MOTION:* a motion was made by Lynn Landolina, seconded by Lisa Griffin to adjourn the special meeting. The special meeting was adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ricky Bortz Board Secretary

These minutes are issued pending Board of Education approval.